How does Allway Sync synchronize files?

To synchronize files means to select the most recent version of each file (the one most recently modified by the user) and copy them to the other folder(s) participating in the synchronization operation.

The deletion of a file is just a special kind of file modification. So, if a user deletes file.txt from Folder A, synchronization of Folder A with Folder B results in the deletion of file.txt from Folder B. This behavior is one of the key things that distinguishes Allway Sync from classic file-backup software.

The determination of which of two versions of a file was most recently modified can't always be determined accurately simply by choosing the file with the most recent modification time. For instance, you may decide that you need to restore an older version of a document. Such a document would generally have an earlier modification time. In contrast to other file synchronization software, Allway Sync recognizes this situation correctly and propagates the restored file (with the earlier modification time) to other synchronization-partner folder(s).

To achieve a high level of performance, Allway Sync doesn't read the full content of each file to recognize whether or not they are different. Instead, it uses file size in conjunction with file modification time to determine whether two files are different. Time zones and the resolution of file-system time stamps are properly taken into account. Note: file modification times are used to recognize that two files are different. Allway Sync does not determine which file is the most recent version at this point.

File attributes are copied during the file synchronization process. Old versions of a file are removed.